Here’s an update to the book reading challenge that I was so excited to be a part of and get some books crossed off my list.

It is not going to happen as originally planned.

For one thing, we got a puppy two weeks ago and, apparently, I had forgotten how much time and attention they require. She is absolutely adorable and, right now, I would much rather play & snuggle with her than read a book. *Gasp* I know, right?! Shhhh, she is sleeping at my feet at the moment – that is why I’m able to type coherently.

For another reason and most importantly, the Holy Spirit has been nudging me, asking me, “Do you want more?”, “Do you want to be closer to Me?”, “Do you want to be at a higher place this time next year?”. I have answered Yes to all these questions. That means I must not fritter my time away here on earth. He is guiding me to read more about Him and so, I have changed my reading schedule.

Advent is almost upon us and I feel a renewed sense of Joy and urgency. He is coming soon and with each passing day, it gets sooner and sooner. I need to get ready!

I have decided to read Ann Voskamp’s book, “One Thousand Gifts”, and the devotional that goes with it. I started them on Sunday and hope to finish by Christmas Day. I will also be following along with the book, “Advent Illustrated”, and the author’s associated blog. You can follow along also.

http://saralaughed.com/index.php/announcing-advent-illustrated/

As a Catholic, Advent and Christmas has always been my favorite time of the year. In following tradition, I have bought an Advent wreath and candles. I will light it every night at dinner and say a special Advent prayer.

You have 5 days to prepare for Advent and 31 days to prepare for Christmas. What are you doing to prepare and make it special? What are you doing to get ready for Jesus’ coming?

Join me in getting ourselves ready! This is an exciting time!

As Pastor Brian C. Houston says, “The best is yet to come!”

 

